Home | Events | Calendar | News | Contact | Links  
Tidewater Builders Association
 Building Trades Academy  
December 06, 2012
Contact: Joyce Hearn
(757) 305-9064
TBA installs new officers and directors for 2013

Steven E. “Steve” Lawson, president of The Lawson Cos., a developer of single- and multifamily housing communities based in Virginia Beach, took office as Tidewater Builders Association’s 2013 president in an evening ceremony Dec. 5.  His father, Robert A. Lawson Jr., who served as TBA president in 1982, conducted the installation.  Steve Lawson is the fifth TBA president to follow in his father’s footsteps as leader of the trade association.

Lawson joined TBA in 1993 and was named to the TBA board of directors in 2007.  He has served as a member of NAHB’s Housing Finance Committee and Mortgage Roundtable. He has also served as chairman of the NAHB Housing Credit Group, the NAHB Multifamily Finance Subcommittee and the NAHB Affordable Housing Subcommittee. The Virginia Beach resident earned a bachelor of science degree in engineering and an MBA from Duke University.

He will serve on the boards of directors of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) and the Home Builders Association of Virginia (HBAV).
Also installed as 2013 officers were:
Dennis M. Graf, president of Graf Construction, is serving as vice president. Graf has been a member of the TBA board since 2002. He built in the 1999, 2000 and 2002 Homearamas and also built the 2001 Homearama Charity House. Graf served six consecutive terms as co-chair of the Charity Golf Tournament Committee and has served as chair since 2009. The Chesapeake resident earned his mechanical engineering degree from Virginia Tech.
William “Toby” Harris , president of New American Mortgage, is serving as associate vice president. He has been a TBA board member for many years and has been very involved with TBA’s membership committee, serving as vice chair in 2012. He also served as a NAHB director in 2012.  Harris received the TBA Extra Mile Award at the installation ceremony for his support of TBA and its Homearama awards program.
Eric J. Sasser, managing member of Sasser Construction LC, a Portsmouth-based custom home builder, is serving as treasurer. Sasser was first appointed to the board in 2010. He has served as Spring 2010 Homearama Committee chair. He built the Charity House to benefit The Boys & Girls Club in 2010, and has since built two additional houses in the 2011 Fall Homearama.
I. Reese Smith Jr., owner of Reese Smith Construction and co-owner of Builder Solutions, is serving as secretary. He has been a TBA member since 2001 and was appointed to the board in 2007.  He has been co-chair of the association’s Suffolk Municipal Affairs Committee and chair of the TBA Scholarship Selection Committee. A graduate of George Mason University, with an MBA from Old Dominion University, Smith currently sits on the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act Board.
The TBA Board’s elected builder directors are: Richard L. “Tuck” Bowie, president and CEO of Terry/Peterson Residential; Scott L. Crumley, president of Crumley Group;  Timothy S. Culpepper, vice president of Robinson Development Group; Christopher J. Ettel, partner of VB Homes; Lana L. O’Meara, president of Designs of Distinction;  Lucky C. Peterson, senior vice president of operations of Terry/Peterson Residential; Douglas C. Smith, vice president of construction and sales at Hearndon Construction; and Erin Widener Speckhart, president and CEO of The Widener Corp.  Peterson and Speckhart will also serve on the Executive Committee as appointees.

Elected associate directors include: Thomas W. Dye, branch manager of Ferguson Enterprises; James R. Ferber, president of Monarch Bank’s Real  Estate and Construction Group; Michael P. Healy, president and COO of Superior Equipment Sales;  Joseph W. Kesterson; senior vice president of TowneBank; Brenda K. Reid, managing broker and director of the New Homes Division of William E. Wood and Associates; Stephen Rockefeller, residential mortgage officer with SunTrust Mortgage; R. Steve Tinkham, director of outside sales for Cox Communications; and Edward O. “Ted” Yoder, managing director of Equity Development Inc..

Serving as NAHB Directors are: Jeffrey W. Ainslie, president and CEO of Ainslie Group; Scott M. Gandy, president of Kempsville Building Materials; John W. “Chip” Iuliano III, president and CEO of ABT Custom Homes; and Steven E. Lawson.

Serving as NAHB Alternate Directors are: Larry R. Hill, president and CEO of L.R. Hill Custom Builders; Basil O. Kotarides, vice president of Kotarides Builders; Joseph N. Pushak; Mid-Atlantic sales and marketing director of Bonded Builders Warranty Group; and Gary L. Werner, president of Franciscus Homes.

Serving as HBAV Builder Directors are: John W. Ainslie Jr., president of construction for Ainslie Group; Steven E. Lawson; John C. Napolitano, senior vice president of Napolitano Homes; John Olivieri, president of Associated Development; and Richard E. Olivieri, president and CEO of Pembroke Enterprises.  

Paulette M. Frantz, customer trade specialist with Dominion Virginia Power, will serve as HBAV Associate Director and TBA Past President William H. “Bill” Halprin of S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co. will serve as HBAV regional vice president.

Katharine B. Scott, executive vice president of Signature Management Corp., will be serving as chair of the Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council and Lana O’Meara, president of Designs of Distinction, will be serving as chair of the Remodelers Council. Jack Lane, president of Monarch Mortgage, will be serving as chair of the TBA Membership Committee, and Stephen B. Quick IV is returning as Homearama Committee chair.

Also installed were Michael D. Newsome, Clark Whitehill Enterprises Inc., who will serve a tenth term as TBA Scholarship Foundation chair, and C. Grigsby Scifres, Williams Mullen, who will serve as TBA general counsel for the 13th year.

Paul J. Farrell, president of Rosewell Corp. and TBA President in 1988, was installed as a director emeritus.
Member of the Year awarded
Monarch Bank & Mortgage was named TBA’s 2012 Member of the Year, an annual honor that recognizes a company or individual for outstanding contributions to the association.
Jim Ferber, president of Monarch Bank’s Real Estate and Construction Group, and Jack Lane, president of Monarch Mortgage, accepted the award and were praised for their achievements throughout the year.  
Most notable among those were the 30 new members recruited by Lane and his Monarch team during a spring membership drive and the record number of companies recruited by Ferber for the TBA Cornerstone Foundation.  
“It’s hard to know where to start when talking about this member.  From the annual meeting to Homearama to the charity golf tournament, I can’t think of any TBA function that they haven’t very generously supported,” said Sam Cohen, 2012 President. “They even spearheaded a Happy Hour this fall that turned out to be one of the most popular events we’ve held recently.”
Both Ferber and Lane join the TBA Board of Directors for the first time in 2013.

© Copyright , Tidewater Builders Association. All rights reserved.