Home | Events | Calendar | News | Contact | Links  
Tidewater Builders Association
 Building Trades Academy  
July 27, 2007
Contact: Mary Prier, APR, Katie Marcum or Valerie Myers
(757) 305-9064
Awards Recognize Excellence in Multifamily Housing
Area multifamily housing communities and professionals were recognized at the industry’s prestigious Associates' Showcase, Awards Banquet and Registered in Apartment Management Graduation July 26 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.

The annual Awards of Excellence, sponsored by the Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council of Tidewater Builders Association, are presented to outstanding properties in South Hampton Roads based on criteria including the year of the property’s completion, signage, maintenance and landscaping . The Merit Awards are presented to individuals for outstanding performance.

The local industry’s top individual award, the Lifetime Achievement Award, went to Gary Hartman, vice president of S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co. (Norfolk
). The award is presented to a multifamily housing executive who has made a recognizable and identifiable difference in multiple facets of the multifamily housing industry.

Hartman has over 27 years of experience in multifamily management and is currently in charge of the Southeastern United States and Northern Virginia regions for his company.  He is responsible for Vice Presidents, regional property managers and almost 9,000 apartment units. Under his leadership the multifamily portfolio of
S.L. Nusbaum has grown to over 17,000 units in the last seven years.

TMHC’s 2007 Executive of the Year honor went to Mike Devine, vice president of S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co. (Norfolk). The
award honors the multifamily executive who has excelled in multifamily management, and has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to his/her company, the multifamily industry profession and TMHC. 

Devine began his career almost 30 years ago.  He has been a regional property manager and now serves as Vice President of the Hampton Roads Region for his company. He manages an efficient and effective team who, under his leadership, maintain the highest standards of excellence for his company.  

He has also been actively involved in TMHC during his career.  He supports its educational programs and currently serves on the Executive Committee.

The 23rd annual TMHC event, which drew more than 500 members and guests, also honored 58 graduates of TMHC’s Registered in Apartment Management program. These apartment professionals took their first step towards earning their RAM designations by successfully completing TMHC's 40-hour RAM School.

The 2007 Awards of Excellence winners, presented by TMHC Chair Christopher J. Dembitz and Tidewater Builders Association President John Ainslie Jr., are:

·        Communities Completed as of 2001 and after

The Cosmopolitan, Drucker & Falk, Virginia Beach 

Communities Completed between 1996 and 2000
Mill Creek, Ripley Heatwole Company Inc., Chesapeake

·        Communities Completed between 1991 and 1995

Dominion Pines, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Co., Chesapeake

·        Communities Completed between 1986 and 1990

Westwinds, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc., Portsmouth

·        Communities Completed between 1981 and 1985

Ghent Village Apartments, Lawson Realty Corp., Norfolk

·        Communities Completed between 1976 and 1980

Kings Grant Landing, The Apartment Gallery, Virginia Beach

·        Subsidized Property Award

Park Terrace, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Corp., Norfolk

·        Seniors Housing Communities completed as of 1995 and after

Jamestown Commons, Larrymore Organization Inc., Virginia Beach


·        Seniors Housing Communities completed before 1995

Old Donation, Ducker & Falk L.L.C., Virginia Beach

·        Renaissance Award Communities Completed as of 1975 and before 

Wellington at Western Branch, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Corp., Chesapeake


The 2007 Merit Awards winners are:

·        Lifetime Achievement Award

Gary Hartman, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Company

·        Multifamily Executive of the Year

Mike Devine, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Company

·        Associate Member of the Year

Diane Tyler, The Apartment Book

·        Gordon A. Poole Regional Manager of the Year

Karen Reid, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Company

·        Peggy B. Cowan Property Manager of the Year

Lisa Schwartz, S. L. Nusbaum Realty Company

·        The Apartment Book Leasing Consultant of the Year

Donna Cristelli, Lawson Realty Corporation
·        Maintenance Supervisor of the Year

Junie Whitehead, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.

The 2007 RAM School graduates, by company, are:

Ashby Development Co.: Christine Hudson

BMR Investments: Kelli Allen, Tanya Fowlkes, Kimberly Long, Kristen Saucier

Bonaventure Property Management Service: Tia Castilloux, Debbie Wagner

Clark Whitehill Enterprises: Mary Boulard, Elizabeth Grosskopf, Tami Phelps, Bonnie Pugh, Jessica Sprayberry

Crestline Realty Corp.: Ashley Leland, Melissa Weiss, Kenneth White

Drucker & Falk L.L.C.: Tarra Carr, Neketa Henry, Amanda Riffle

Kotarides Builders L.L.C.: Tashina Headen, Kimberly Johnson, John Marcoux, Lisa Ann Massis, Linda Stugelmeyer

Lawson Realty Co.:
Donna Cristelli, Angela Haywood, Aleshia Johnson, Kisha Kelly, Loretta Melfy, Amy Thompson

Ripley Heatwole Co.:
Jeremy Brown, Nicole Hulings, Jessica Taylor

S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.:
Christina Baird, Michelle Bargher, Tina Brown, Jessica Dogan, Nardo Falaminiano, Gabrielle Halioua, Melissa Hentchel-Moon, Antonia Johnson, Velina Johnson, Debra Kearney, Julie Kirbide, Geina Kitchen, Kerchaina Long, Sara Ogle, Deborah Owens, Kecia Reed, Karli Reul, Lakecia Ridley, Martina Sampson, Rachel Shames, Tiffany Tyler, Jessica Wahaba, Ashley Wycoff

W.H.H. Trice & Co.: Deborah Bailey, Wanda Porter

At large: Evette Brooks

Also during the evening, Walter S. Hill with Crown Point Townhomes, managed by W.H.H. Trice Co. of Norfolk was awarded the Certified Maintenance Specialist Designation.

© Copyright , Tidewater Builders Association. All rights reserved.