Home | Events | Calendar | News | Contact | Links  
Tidewater Builders Association
 Building Trades Academy  
May 28, 2008
Contact: Mary Prier, APR or Katie Marcum
(757) 305-9064
Tidewater Builders Assocation Awards $85,000 In Scholarships
All 15 2008 Scholarship Winners
2008 TBA President Edward Sadler (back row center) and Virginia Beach Mayor Meyera Oberndorf (seated center) congratulate TBA's 15 scholarship recipients during the annual scholarship breakfast, Wednesday May 28. The recipients were (top row from left): Tony Saghafi, Lydia Michailan, Ashley Hunt, Nicholas Formica, Rebecca Warren, Zachary Beale, Maggie Gregg, Brittany Denig, Zachariah Nealy, TeAnna Johnson, (bottom row) Jamar Skyles, Sabrina Medel, Christina Hayes, Dewan Savage, and Caitlin Reed.

Sixteen local high school students, along with two schools, were awarded a total of $85,000 in scholarship funds from the Tidewater Builders Association Scholarship Foundation at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 28 at The Town Center City Club in Virginia Beach.

TBA’s scholarship program is two-pronged. Ten academic scholarships were awarded based on academic excellence, community service and financial need; and awards to six students, plus two to high schools, were presented in the Young Designers’ Scholarship Competition.

The following academic scholarship recipients will each receive a $7,500 four-year scholarship:

  • Charles Craig, a senior at Woodrow Wilson High School, Portsmouth, plans to study physics and engineering at Christopher Newport University.
  • Brittany Denig, a senior at Salem High School, Virginia Beach, won the Howard M. & Nancye C. Weisberg Scholarship and plans to study music performance and psychology at Virginia Commonwealth University.
  • Maggie Gregg, a senior at Hickory High School, Chesapeake, plans to pursue a biology/pre-vet medicine course of study at Virginia Commonwealth University.
  • Christina Hayes, a senior at I.C. Norcom High School, Portsmouth, plans to study chemistry at the University of Virginia.
  • Ashley Hunt, a senior at Kellam High School, Virginia Beach, plans to embark on a nursing course of study at Liberty University.
  • Sabrina Medel, a senior at Tallwood High School, Virginia Beach, won the Lee A. Gifford Scholarship, and plans to study mathematics at Old Dominion University.
  • Lydia Michailan, a senior at Princess Anne High School, Virginia Beach, plans to attend Virginia Tech.
  • Zachariah Nealy, a senior at Princess Anne High School, Virginia Beach, won the William J. Hearring Memorial Scholarship and plans to pursue a math and chemistry course of study at The College of William and Mary.
  • Rebecca “Caitlin” Reed, a senior at Princess Anne High School, Virginia Beach, plans to study journalism at the University of Virginia.
  • Dewan Savage, a senior at Northampton High School, Eastville, plans to study political science at Virginia Commonwealth University.

The TBA scholarship recipients were selected by a 10 member selection committee that spent four weeks reviewing 234 applications.

A talent for design

In a competition befitting a builders association, entrants in the 2008 Young Designers’ Scholarship Competition were asked to design and draw homes in one of two categories: hand-drawn or computer-aided design. The criteria for this year’s entries was to design a 3,000-square-foot home on a one-acre lot with a water feature. A $1,500 first-place scholarship, $1,000 second-place scholarship and $500 third-place scholarship were awarded in each category. The competition’s six judges were local architect and building professionals.

The CAD winners are:

  • Zachary Beale of Landstown High School, Virginia Beach, won the $1,500 first-place award.
  • TeAnna Johnson of Landstown High School, Virginia Beach, won the $1,000 second-place award.
  • Tony Saghafi of Landstown High School, Virginia Beach, won the $500 third-place award.

The hand-drawn winners are:

  • Jamar Skyles of Lake Taylor High School, Norfolk, won the $1,500 first-place award.
  • Nicholas Formica of Western Branch High School, Chesapeake, won the $1,000 second-place award.
  • Rebecca Warren of Lakeland High School, Suffolk, won the $500 third-place award.

A $3,000 grant went to Western Branch High School, Chesapeake, for having the most entries, with 19, and Cox High School, Virginia Beach, won the $1,000 second-place grant for its 15 entries. The grants, which can be used to purchase equipment or supplies for the winning school’s drafting/design program, are meant to increase interest in the design competition.
Attendees of the ceremony included Meyera Oberndorf, Virginia Beach Mayor; Bill DeSteph, Virginia Beach Councilman; Dan Edwards, Virginia Beach School Board Chairman; Sheila Magula Ph.D., Virginia Beach Public Schools Assistant Superintendent; Milton Liverman Ph.D., Suffolk Schools Superintendent;  David Stuckwisch Ph.D., Portsmouth Schools Superintendent; Patricia Powers Ph.D., Chesapeake City Schools Assistant Superintendent; Joyce Beamon, Norfolk Public Schools Sr. Coordinator of School Counseling; and Richard Bowmaster Ph.D., Northampton County Schools Superintendent.

A tradition of giving

Since 1965, the TBA Scholarship Foundation has provided almost $1.4 million in financial assistance to 379 students.  TBA will continue to provide scholarship funding during the 2008-2009 academic year to 30 other past recipients.


© Copyright , Tidewater Builders Association. All rights reserved.