Home | Events | Calendar | News | Contact | Links  
Tidewater Builders Association
 Building Trades Academy  
December 7, 2009
Contact: Mary E. Prier
Sara Steil
(757) 305-9064
Home Builders Association Installs 2010 Officers, Directors

Bill HalprinWilliam H. “Bill” Halprin was installed as the 2010 president of Tidewater Builders Association, a not-for-profit home builders association with about 800-plus member firms in South Hampton Roads, during its annual installation of officers at the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront on Friday, Dec. 4. Halprin also will serve as a Home Builders Association of Virginia (HBAV) and National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) director in 2010.

Halprin is a partner and senior vice president with S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co., as well as senior vice president and director of operations for all multifamily property management activities.

Halprin was first appointed to the TBA Board of Directors in 2000 as chairman of the Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council. He has since served in various leadership positions, including secretary in 2007, treasurer in 2008 and vice president in 2009.

Halprin also has also been involved with HBAV, serving multiple terms as a multifamily representative and as a legislative representative in 2009.
In 2001, Halprin was named Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council’s Multifamily Executive of the Year and in 1995 he won TMHC’s Property Manager of the Year.
In 2008, he received the council’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Chuck MillerOther 2010 TBA officers installed were:

Charles J. “Chuck” Miller II, president of Miller Custom Homes, Virginia Beach, is TBA’s vice president. He will also serve as an HBAV director in 2010. Miller has been a TBA member since 1995 and served on the TBA board since 2002. Miller was the founding chair of TBA’s Green Building Council in 2008. He also is a TBA Life Spike for his membership recruitment efforts and has built homes in Homearama 2000, 2002, 2007 and 2008.

Jim JacksonJames E. Jackson, president of Superior Equipment Sales Inc., Chesapeake, is TBA’s associate vice president. A TBA member for eight years, Jackson joined the TBA board of directors in 2006.

Sam CohenS.L. “Sam” Cohen, president of Joey Corp., Chesapeake, is TBA’s treasurer. Cohen has been a member of TBA since 1990 and has been a member of the board since 1999. Cohen has built in Homearama since 1997, served as chair of the Homearama Committee for two years and built the 2000 Charity House. He also built the 2005 TBA Scholarship House to benefit the TBA Scholarship Foundation.

John F. “Jack” Schoch Jr., president of J.F. Schoch Building Corp., Virginia Beach, is TBA’s secretary. Schoch has been a member of TBA since 1994. He also has built in most Homearamas since 1994 and served as Homearama Committee chair in 2005 and 2006.

Steve LawsonSteven E. Lawson, president of The Lawson Cos., Virginia Beach, and Dennis M. Graf, president of Graf Construction Co., Chesapeake, were appointed to the executive committee of the board of directors.

This will be Lawson’s second year as executive committee appointee. Lawson joined TBA in 1993 and was named to the TBA board of directors in 2007. He has also served on several NAHB finance committees.

Graf has been a member of TBA member for 11 years. He built the 2001 Charity House for Homearama, and also built in the 1999 and 2000 Homearamas. He has also chaired several of TBA’s charity golf tournaments.

Other newly installed TBA builder directors are: Richard L. “Tuck” Bowie of The Terry Peterson Cos. of Virginia Beach; Scott G. Brooker of SGB Homes of Chesapeake; and Stephen B. Quick IV of Stephen Alexander Homes of Chesapeake.

Newly installed TBA associate directors are: Gary T. McCollum of Cox Communications of Chesapeake; Scott M. Gandy of Kempsville Building Materials of Chesapeake; Brenda K. Reid of William E. Wood and Associates Realtors of Virginia Beach; and Thomas W. Dye of Ferguson Enterprises Inc. of Virginia Beach. Robert M. Boyd of BB&T of Virginia will be completing the unexpired term of Sam Scott.

Donald L. Landle of Case Handyman & Remodeling of Chesapeake was installed as chair of the TBA Remodelers Council; and Michael R. Devine of S.L. Nusbaum Realty Corp. of Norfolk was installed as chair of the Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council.

Also installed were Michael D. Newsome of Clark Whitehill Enterprises Inc., Virginia Beach, who will serve a seventh term as TBA Scholarship Foundation chair. Newsome is also serving as HBAV president. C. Grigsby Scifres of Williams Mullen, Virginia Beach, will serve as TBA general counsel for the 10th year.

The following members were installed as NAHB directors:
Jeffrey W. Ainslie, the Ainslie Group; William “Toby” Harris, New American Mortgage; John W. “Chip” Iuliano III, Area Builders of Tidewater Inc.; William H. “Bill” Halprin, S.L. Nusbaum; John E. Olivieri, Associated Development Management Corp; and Robert A. Widener, The Widener Corp.

The following members were installed as NAHB alternate directors:
W. Trent Dudley, Wells Fargo Real Estate Group; Larry R. Hill, L.R. Hill Custom Builders Inc.; Reese Smith Jr., Reese Smith Construction LLC; Erin Widener Speckhart, The Widener Corp.; and Donald L. Williams, Alexander Builders Inc.

The following members were installed as HBAV Builder Directors:
John W. Ainslie Jr., The Ainslie Group; Pete A. Kotarides, Kotarides Builders LLC; John C. Napolitano, Napolitano Homes; and Richard E. Oliveri, Pembroke Enterprises Inc.

Paulette M. Frantz with Dominion Virginia Power was installed as HBAV associate director and Christopher J. Dembitz with Clark Whitehill Enterprises Inc. was installed as HBAV multifamily representative.

© Copyright , Tidewater Builders Association. All rights reserved.